U.S. Federal Rule Mandates Access to Patient Notes

18 January 2023

Starting on October 6, 2022, the definition of electronic health information (EHI) in the 21st Century Cures Act will expand beyond the United States Core Data for Interoperability (USCDI) Version 1 to include all electronic Protected Health Information (ePHI) that the patient has the right to access under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). In the HIPAA Privacy Rule, patients have the right to access all identifiable health information about them that is in the medical record, or might be stored in other records, and is the type of information used to make decisions about patients.

The federal rule on “Interoperability and Information Blocking” mandates U.S. healthcare providers give patients access to all the health information in their electronic medical records “without delay” and without charge.  The eight (8) types of clinical notes that must be shared are outlined in the United States Core Data for Interoperability (USCDI), and include:

  • History & physical
  • Progress notes
  • Consultation notes
  • Laboratory report narratives
  • Pathology report narratives
  • Imaging narratives
  • Procedure notes
  • Discharge summary notes

As a leading U.S. healthcare technology company that provides the link between patients and their health records, ViewMyHealthRecords.com has been providing secure access to health records since 2011. Trusted by thousands of healthcare providers throughout the USA and internationally, our patient portal provides 24/7 access to patient health records in compliance with the new rules and regulations.

For answers to the most common questions regarding ViewMyHealthRecords.com, please click the following link https://www.viewmyhealthrecords.com/faqs